NaNoWriMo Word Counter for your site: a great idea (but only if you’re winning)

Just a quickie for those who might be interested. NaNoWriMo do word counters that you can put on your site (yes, even the freebie sites like this one) – you can see my one on the right. All you need to do is get the code from the NaNoWriMo site (click here) and copy it into a text widget. There’s a few different types and you can add percentages, days left etc. easily – even if you know zilch about codes and all that rubbish like me. They link directly to your NaNo site so they update automatically (well, at least I hope they do or I’m going to look like a right mug come Thursday).

If anyone wants a step by step guide, let me know in the comments and I’ll edit the post. Not right now though, it’s almost bedtime!

https://i2.wp.com/foter.com/img/photo/88/100-i-need-more-sleep_l.jpg

(This still isn’t me)
Photo credit: joshunter / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Word Counter for your site: a great idea (but only if you’re winning)

  1. Oooooooo, yeah. I saw those and thought “Wow! What a terribly effective way to publicly shame yourself into hitting the word count!” You’ll note I haven’t added one to my blog, yet. Ever? No, no. Yet.

    Like

  2. Hey good call, I almost neglected to do that… I am just joining the Nano-community this year, and I’m quite daunted at the idea that I need to write my brains out for the next 30 days. Hey who knows maybe I’ll squeeze out a gem…nevertheless, I think I better be getting one of them there counters added in the next 24 hrs.

    Like

    • Thanks Tony. I think the little word counter looks like fun, as long as I keep up with the targets – otherwise my failure will be there for all to see! It’s my first year too and you’re right it’s very very daunting. Best of luck!

      Like

Leave a reply

