Friday Fiction – The Cat

My third Friday Fictioneers and it’s my birthday so I’m in a silly mood. Hope you like it!

For those who don’t know, this is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, and anyone can play. Thanks for hosting, Rochelle!

Here’s the picture:

Copyright-Scott L. Vannatter

Copyright-Scott L. Vannatter

The Cat

I smacked the cat once, not hard, just a light tap to remind it not to jump on the table. It was years ago, but the cat hasn’t forgotten.

It’s Mum’s cat. I don’t visit often, birthdays and Christmas mostly, and that’s down to the cat. It’s the way it stares at me, like it’s never going to forget what I did.

This year I found a white hair in my Christmas pud. The cat was watching as I pulled it out from between my teeth. I hope it was Mum’s. The cat’s mostly grey black…

Except around its bum.

(100 words)

44 thoughts on “Friday Fiction – The Cat

  1. hahaha! got to watch those white hairs. I laughed at the end. 🙂 oh yeah,………Happy Birthday to you! Happy birthday to you! Happy birthdayyyyyyyy to youuuuuuuu!!!! (I promised you I would sing happy birthday to you) 😉

    Like

  2. Hahaha. Funny. Nice little twist at the end. Ah, yuck! I agree this cat looks like it might have a grudge. Happy Birthday to you!!! On, our last day of the planet. I have a feeling we’re going to make it. Happy Holidays to you, too!

    Like

  3. i was just thinking that nobody so far has written anything about indirectly licking a cat’s ass. but now – check that item off the list. well done.

    Like

  4. I have to say I got a chuckle out of this. Ok, Ok, so it was a full on laugh… This was priceless. All cats have a grudge, they just do. I mean, look at them!

    Like

    • Thanks Tony, I just checked out your stories from the past couple of weeks – don’t know how I missed them before, sorry! Nothing for this week though?
      Glad I made you chuckle 🙂

      Like

  5. Oops!
    Never mess with cats! They are conniving vile creatures.. seem the kinds who hold a grudge.

    Belated Happy Birthday. Hope you had a great day and wish you a wonderful year ahead. 🙂

    Like

  6. Exquisitely funny!! And that’s enough said because we all know where that hair came from, don’t we? Hope your birthday was grand and your Christmas will be even grander. 🙂

    Like

  7. No worries, sometimes gross and funny is what’s needed to take someone out of a funk or bad mood.
    My family laughs at me because I have a 5th grade since of humor. I laughed at this.
    I thought about it again later last night. I’m sure I’m not ever going to get a cat now. Everyone tells me they’re so smart. Knowing my luck, my cat would do this to me every few days.

    Like

  8. Deal El,

    When i reached the last line I laughed out loud with glee that must have been mirrored by the joy and smug satisfaction of the cat observing the proceedings. Very good story, and one that captures the mindset of cats perfectly.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

Leave a reply

