Friday Fiction: A Shot In The Park

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Copyright -KentBonham

Copyright -KentBonham

A Shot In The Park

“Hello?”

“I’m in position in the garden. Security was non-existent.”

“Excellent. Can you see the house?”

“Sssshhh! Yes.”

“And you’ve got a clear shot?”

“Not so loud!”

“Nobody can hear me, you idiot, we’re on the phone.”

“Right. Sorry. Bit nervous.”

“Yeah, forgot it’s your first time.”

“There’s movement on the balcony. Shit!”

“Can they see you?”

“Don’t think so.”

“Now’s your chance. Remember what we practised? Keep calm, take aim…”

“My hands are shaking.”

“…focus…”

“I don’t think I can do this.”

“For God’s sake, Kent, get a grip! It’s a flipping photo. Point. Click. Send to Rochelle. Easy!”

.
(100 words)

________________________________________________________________________________________________

For those who don’t know, Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, and anyone can play. Thanks for hosting, Rochelle! Check out the link below to see what other fictioneers did with this week’s prompt.

This week’s photo is courtesy of Kent Bonham. Sorry, Kent, hope you can forgive my silly story 🙂

Need more Friday Fiction? Click the blue frog to read more stories from other fictioneers!


79 thoughts on “Friday Fiction: A Shot In The Park

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀
    What can I say? That is hysterical!
    I’m not that particular when it comes to photos, though (I’m a camera man at a TV station, so I do this for a living), but I LOVE this story! Good job, El!!! Made me feel like I’ve been inducted into the “100 Word Fiction Family.”
    You been reading my mail …? 😀

    Like

    • Phew! I sort of thought you might take offence – glad you liked my daft tale – I’m sure you’re a lot better at taking photographs then I’ve portrayed – especially as you’re a camera man! Thanks for all the laughs. Your comment was also hysterical 😀

      Like

  2. Oh El, you wicked girl you! hahaha! It made me laugh. You had me fooled though. Thought he was shooting shooting, not picture taking. I will have to include you in a story and make you sound Canadian, hehehe. 😉

    Like

  3. I probably didn’t do the photo justice – my story could be based on any house anywhere – but this idea popped into my head and I went with it. Glad I fooled you! I’m off to see what everyone else has done with the prompt this week 😀

    Like

    • Me too! Thank goodness cameras these days do everything for you. Back in the old days my prints always used to come back with stickers on them telling me what I’d done wrong.

      Like

      • Gosh they actually gave you a little photography lesson. I was just going through an old box of photos and everybody was at the very bottom of the picture about 200 yards away! I’m surprised I didn’t get any of those stickers! 😀

        Like

  4. Loved your story with the surprise, silly ending….however, I held my breath because I just finished the book “Killing Kennedy” and that’s all I could think of while reading about your character getting ready to take aim.

    Like

    • HI Lora – so you fell into my trap then? Excellent! Actually, I was a bit worried that it wasn’t going to work so am thrilled that everyone was duped into thinking he was an assassin instead of an amateur photographer.

      Like

  5. Great reference to Rochelle! I really liked the end. I was hoping not to get sucked into bloodshed, and found myself chuckling pleasantly. Nice story.

    Like

  6. Missed this last week, glad I ‘rewound’…Oh, wait cameras – digital ones don’t do that. Awe I’m showing I’m an old fart.
    I was looking for that ‘bang’ and you nailed it!

    Like

Leave a reply

