Friday Fiction: On Being Unique

________________________________________________________________________________________________

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Copyright – me!

On Being Unique

In the jungle, where Brian was born, you were either one thing or another. Only Brian clearly wasn’t. Brian was different, and he hated it. Others avoided him, or worse, hissed ‘Abomination!’ as he passed by.

Depressed and slightly unstable, Brian changed his name to The Majestic Zelnorkk and proclaimed himself the new Messiah. In the jungle, they shunned him with renewed vigour, but on the internet he found fame and notoriety. He started a band and released a charity single which spent eleven weeks at number one.

He died, a tax exile in Monaco, old, happy and resolutely different.

(100 words)

________________________________________________________________________________________________

For those who don’t know, Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, and anyone can play. Thanks for hosting, Rochelle! Check out the link below to see what other fictioneers did with this week’s prompt.

This week’s photo is courtesy of me! Meet Gireletizelion (or Girellie for short). He’s about 3ft tall and my junk-loving hubby spotted him in a charity shop and bought him for a fiver. He sits at the top of the stairs in our house and makes me smile every time I see him.

You’d think I’d have a story prepared for my own photo, but I’m not that bright. I found this week really hard. Can’t wait to see what everyone else has done with this prompt.

Need more Friday Fiction? Click the blue frog to read more stories from other fictioneers!


72 thoughts on “Friday Fiction: On Being Unique

  1. Dear EL,

    It seems that people are having a good time with this prompt this week. 3 ft. tall? He doesn’t look that big in the picture.
    I loved your “Life of Brian” story. He’s an example to all of us. Next week I’m going to proclaim myself the Messiah. Too busy this week. 😉
    To tell the truth, I couldn’t wait to see what you’d write this week. I’m not disappointed. .

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • Hi Rochelle
      I’ve been so busy reading stories I’ve forgotten to reply to my comments! You’re right, he doesn’t look 3′ tall, I should have put something in the picture to give a sense of scale. Never mind, it’s been a fabulous week full of fabulous stories – thanks for choosing my photo 🙂

      Like

  2. Good on Brian to embrace his difference and run with it! I’d enjoy reading from the wisdom of The Majestic Zelnorkk, surely it would be illuminating. I’m glad he found happiness in the end.

    Like

  3. All Hail the Passing of Zelnorrk!
    May His Spirit Rest Eternal!

    Brian’s Story is due out next week in 5D – called the Zelnorrk Diaries – and stars in various orders: Brad Pitt, Harrison Ford, George Clooney, Tom Hanks, and Tom Cruise. Pick the order and which parts go where and you can win a trip to the opening in Monaco.

    Like

    • HI Perry
      I did try to think of a hit to add as a video at the bottom – perhaps it should have been ‘Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life’ by Monty Python (Life Of Brian) ?

      Like

  4. Let me only say “ditto” the above. I’m loving the mostly positive and often humorous stories this week. It was a week in which I needed the smile and laugh, so thanks to Brian and your story.

    janet

    Like

    • thanks Janet – I’m glad we’ve all made you smile and laugh. I’ve had a great time reading all the stories (which is why I’m so late replying to my comments!)

      Like

    • Hi Shreyank
      You’re right he doesn’t look tall in the picture – because we know him we see him as big but I can see why people thought he was pocket sized or at least bag sized. He has inspired some excellent stories, though, regardless of size.

      Like

    • Hi Erin
      Yes I did realise that one moral for my tale could be: forget real life, do something stupid and put it online. Hmmm, not sure that’s the message I wanted to get across!!!!

      Like

  5. Thanks for the photo, and the fun story, Brian/Girellie is a sweetie, I especially like the little chunky legs!

    Like

  6. Dear EL
    I have been waiting for your story and I wasn’t disappointed!
    Loved that you named him Brian, perfect.
    Thanks for the photo, I think we have all had fun with him this week.
    Dee

    Like

  7. Brian, a man they called Brian…..You’re completely off your rocker but I loved it. I think it’s one of your best ones yet. Thanks!!

    Like

  8. And here I thought this was going to be a toughy. I’ve loved the variety of stories I’ve read. Thanks for the photo! I was able to incorporate it into my continuing story. Cheers.

    Like

    • I did wonder how our serial-fictioneers were going to incorporate this into their continuing stories, but you all seem to have managed it.
      thanks for commenting!

      Like

  9. You mean it’s real? I thought it was photoshopped! Well now that’s really nice. I would love to have him too. Or his brother or sister. 😉

    Great story, we that are ‘different’ are frowned upon. One day I hope that changes.

    Like

    • HI Jackie
      Definitely not photoshopped – I’m not that clever! I don’t know where he’s from or why he is the way he is -he’s a little mystery and about as different as they come!

      Like

  10. Dear EL,
    Thank you for the wonderful prompt. It brought out some excellent work and I especially had fun with it. Brian was very creative and resourceful. Good traits to have when you’re different.

    Like

    • Thank you – I’ve loved the stories this week – I thought he’d stump people but he’s bringing out different sides to a lot of people instead. It’s been a great week for FF

      Like

    • Sadly true – except that the internet is not the real world, and we mustn’t forget that or we’ll all become sad online hermits. Oh wait, I think I’m half way there already 😀

      Like

  11. And that is clearly what a Zelnorkk looks like. 😉 Isn’t it interesting how we can attain fame and self-satisfaction by embracing our differences. This was a inspiring and entertaining tale. Great job!

    p.s. I loved the “copyright – Me!”

    Like

    • Thanks Eagle Aye – glad you liked my little tale. And I loved putting ‘copyright – Me!’ after all these weeks of posting other people’s photos for Friday Fictioneers – it’s been a great week 🙂

      Like

  12. Pingback: Zygolandia – Friday Fictioneers – 06/07/13 | The Bumble Files

  13. El, you and a few others are my go-to’s when it’s story time and you always deliver! Terrific!
    This will be my last review as Rochelle has probably read by now my comment on her comment to your story.
    QUICK! Which way to Monaco …?

    Like

    • Thanks Kent
      You’re very brave to confront someone about their height. I have a couple of friends who are vertically-challenged and it’s one area we don’t talk about – not unless I want a kick in the shins anyway (that’s about as high as they can reach) 😉

      Like

      • It’s an on-going joke with Rochelle and me (she’s five foot nothing). She doesn’t mind, really. And, yes, I expect retaliation on her part. 😉

        Like

Leave a reply

